The American Society for Virology was founded in 1981 to provide a forum for investigators of human, animal, insect, plant, fungal, and bacterial viruses, whether the research involves clinical, ecological, biological, or biochemical approaches. The stated aim of the Society is to promote the exchange of information and stimulate discussion and collaboration among scientists active in all aspects of virology. These goals are achieved by means of meetings organized or sponsored by the Society, obtaining for the members reduced subscription rates for virological journals, soliciting travel grants to attend national and international meetings and representation on national and international councils.
Membership Information
Join ASV Online
Membership Directory/Dues Renewal
ASV Officers and Councilors
ASV Committees and Members
2013 Meeting Symposia DVD Order Form
2012 Meeting Symposia DVD Order Form
2011 Meeting Symposia DVD Order Form
ASV Virology Jobs Site
Schedule of Annual Meetings
Education and Career Development
2013 Workshop Slide Presentations
2012 Workshop Slide Presentations
2011 Workshop Slide Presentations
2010 Workshop Slide Presentations
2009 Workshop Slide Presentations
Careers in Virology Frequently Asked Questions
What's New
Virology Alerts
Society Newsletters
ASV By-Laws
ASV Past Presidents
ASV Listing of Annual Meetings
Contact Information
Committees and Members

Archives Committee
Sondra Schlesinger, Chair (2014)
Richard Condit (2016)
Frederick A. Murphy (2016)
Milton J. Schlesinger (2014)

ATCC Advisory Committee
(Committee Activities Suspended)
Mark A. Pallansch, Chair (2015)

Education and Career Development Committee
Stacy Schultz-Cherry, Chair (2014)
Hector Aguilar-Carreno (2016)
Sonja M. Best (2015)
Kyle Johnson (2016)
Vincent R. Racaniello (2014)
John Williams (2015)

Finance Committee
Harry B. Greenberg, Chair (2014)
Dorothea L. Sawicki ( ex officio )

Graduate Student/Postdoctoral Fellow
Travel Award Committee

Susan L. Carpenter, Chair
Xiaofeng Wang
Dorothea L. Sawicki ( ex officio )

Membership Review Committee
Kristen A. Bernard, Chair (2014)
Brenda L. Fredericksen (2016)
Stephanie Karst (2014)
Juan Ernesto Ludert (2016)
Tem Morrison (2015)
Nathalie Pardigon (2015)
Jason B. Weinberg (2014)

Nominating Committee
Barbara Sherry, Chair

Program Planning Committee
Richard J. Kuhn, Chair (2015)
Katherine R. Spindler, Vice-Chair (2015)
Jeff Bergelson (2014)
Roberto Cattaneo (2015)
Juan Carlos de la Torre (2015)
Matthew Evans (2015)
Ana Fernandez-Sesma (2015)
Richard W. Hardy (2015)
Mark Heise (2014)
Brenda G. Hogue (2015)
Shan-Lu Liu (2015)
Richard E. Lloyd (2015)
Louis M. Mansky (2014)
W. Allen Miller (2014)
John T. Patton (2015)
Megan L. Shaw (2014)
Joanna Shisler (2014)
Greg Smith (2014)
Jeanmarie Verchot (2015)

Public Affairs Committee
David M. Sander, Chair (2014)
Kevin Anderson (2014)
Peter C. Angeletti (2014)
Kenneth I. Berns (2014)
Ellen W. Collisson (2014)
Jason D. Graci (2014)
Ronald B. Luftig (2014)