The American Society for Virology was founded in 1981 to provide a forum for investigators of human, animal, insect, plant, fungal, and bacterial viruses, whether the research involves clinical, ecological, biological, or biochemical approaches. The stated aim of the Society is to promote the exchange of information and stimulate discussion and collaboration among scientists active in all aspects of virology. These goals are achieved by means of meetings organized or sponsored by the Society, obtaining for the members reduced subscription rates for virological journals, soliciting travel grants to attend national and international meetings and representation on national and international councils.
Membership Information
Join ASV Online
Membership Directory/Dues Renewal
ASV Officers and Councilors
ASV Committees and Members
ASV Virology Jobs Site
Schedule of Annual Meetings
Education and Career Development
2013 Workshop Slide Presentations
2012 Workshop Slide Presentations
2011 Workshop Slide Presentations
2010 Workshop Slide Presentations
2009 Workshop Slide Presentations
Careers in Virology Frequently Asked Questions
What's New
Virology Alerts
Society Newsletters
ASV By-Laws
ASV Past Presidents
ASV Listing of Annual Meetings
Contact Information
Contact Information

Program - Current Membership Status/Dues Renewals:
Dr. Dorothea L. Sawicki
Secretary-Treasurer, ASV
Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology
University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences
3000 Arlington Avenue, Mail Stop 1021
Toledo, OH 43614-2598
Tel: (419) 383-5173
Fax: (419) 383-2881

Registration - ASV 2015 meeting:
Online registration and fee information at

Local Hosts - ASV 2015:
Dr. C. Yong Kang, FRSC
Dr. Stephen Barr
Dr. Jimmy Dikeakos
   Professors of Virology, Department of Microbiology
  and Immunology, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry,
  Western University

Conference Planner – Western University - ASV 2015:
Ruth Harland
519.661.2111, Ext. 85974

New Membership Contact:
(For New Applicants Only)

Dr. Kate Ryman
ASV Membership Committee Chair