Membership Types

Full Member

To be qualified for regular (full) membership, an individual should be at least three years past his/her professional degree (Ph.D., M.D., D.V.M., M.S. or equivalent experience).

Associate Member

Associate membership shall be awarded to individuals in training positions in virology (graduate students, undergraduate students, postdoctoral fellows, or equivalent) actively engaged in virology research or teaching.

Student Member

A Student membership is considered the same as an associate membership but is reserved for full-time students of virology.

Lifetime Member

To qualify for Lifetime Membership, you must have been a FULL MEMBER of ASV for a minimum of five (5) years. You may then upgrade to Lifetime Member by renewing your membership online at the one-time rate.

Emeritus Member

Any member of the Society in good standing (current years dues paid) who has retired from active employment because of disability, eligibility for retirement, or age, may, upon written request to the ASV Secretary-Treasurer and approval by the Council, be classified as a member Emeritus. Members Emeriti shall pay no membership fees or other assessments and shall retain all of the rights and privileges of full dues-paying members. Requests are presented to Council only at scheduled meetings held in July and September each year.

Honorary Member

Any member may propose for the consideration of the Council the name of an eminent senior scientist who is not an American national or resident, and who is deemed to be worthy for award of honorary membership. Upon the favorable recommendation of the Council, the election of any such person shall be carried out by mail ballot circulated in advance of the annual meeting. Election shall require an affirmative vote of two-thirds of the valid ballots returned by members. Honorary members shall pay no membership fees or other assessments and shall have all of the rights and privileges of full dues-paying members, except that honorary members shall have no vote and shall not be eligible to hold any office, elective or otherwise.