The American Society for Virology was founded in 1981 to provide a forum for investigators of human, animal, insect, plant, fungal, and bacterial viruses, whether the research involves clinical, ecological, biological, or biochemical approaches. The stated aim of the Society is to promote the exchange of information and stimulate discussion and collaboration among scientists active in all aspects of virology. These goals are achieved by means of meetings organized or sponsored by the Society, obtaining for the members reduced subscription rates for virological journals, soliciting travel grants to attend national and international meetings and representation on national and international councils.
Membership Information
Join ASV Online
Membership Directory/Dues Renewal
ASV Officers and Councilors
ASV Committees and Members
2013 Meeting Symposia DVD Order Form
2012 Meeting Symposia DVD Order Form
2011 Meeting Symposia DVD Order Form
ASV Virology Jobs Site
Schedule of Annual Meetings
Education and Career Development
2013 Workshop Slide Presentations
2012 Workshop Slide Presentations
2011 Workshop Slide Presentations
2010 Workshop Slide Presentations
2009 Workshop Slide Presentations
Careers in Virology Frequently Asked Questions
What's New
Virology Alerts
Society Newsletters
ASV By-Laws
ASV Past Presidents
ASV Listing of Annual Meetings
Contact Information
Officers and Councilors

Paula Traktman, Ph.D.
Medical College of Wisconsin
Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
8701 Watertown Plank Road, Milwaukee, WI 53226
Telephone: 414-955-8253
FAX: 414-955-6535

Vincent R. Racaniello, Ph.D.
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
701 West 168th Street, New York, NY 10032
Telephone: 212-305-5707

Dorothea L. Sawicki Ph.D.
University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences
Dept. of Medical Microbiology and Immunology
3000 Arlington Avenue, Mail Stop 1021
Toledo, OH 43614-2598
Telephone: 419.383.5173
FAX: 419.383.2881

Nominating Committee Chair (2014)
BARBARA SHERRY – North Carolina State University, Raleigh

Councilor for Prokaryotic Virology (2014)
MARK J. YOUNG – Montana State University

Councilor for Plant Virology (2014)
ANNE E. SIMON – University of Maryland

Councilor for Animal Virology (2015)
Rebecca Dutch – University of Kentucky
Councilor for Invertebrate Virology (2015)
SCOTT C. WEAVER – University of Texas Medical Branch

Councilor for Veterinary/Zoonotic Virology (2016)
VERONIKA VON MESSLING – Paul-Ehrlich-Institut, Germany

Councilor for Medical Virology (2016)
STANLEY PERLMAN – University of Iowa